Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print Journals Available in the Library
Historical and Image Databases
Reference Materials - Global
Reference Materials - American
Library Assistant/Archives Director
General Art History Websites
Art History Resources on the Web
"this website provides an extensive list of links to art history resources on the web. It covers all of Western art history, arranged chronologically from prehistoric to 21st century art. The website also includes resource lists for non-European art; research resources in art history; and links to museums and galleries."
Best of History Web Sites
"Best of History Web Sites aims to provide quick, convenient, and reliable access to the best history-oriented resources online in a wide range of categories and has been designed to benefit history teachers and their students."
Google Art Project
"The platform enables users to virtually tour partner museums’ galleries, explore physical and contextual information about artworks, and compile their own virtual collection."
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
"The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history." "The Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection."
NYPL Digital Gallery
"Provides access to over 685,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more."
"Smarthistory at Khan Academy is the leading open educational resource for art history."
Thank you Anne Price, the original author of this guide, for your generosity and kindness in the use of this guide.