Skip to main content

Public Speaking: Finding Articles

Popular Databases

The two databases that are frequently used in generic searches are:

  • ProQuest: Has one search box (similar to using Google).

Importance of Peer-Reviewed Articles

What is the importance of Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Articles?

When an article is considered "Scholarly" or "Peer Reviewed," that means that it has undergone a complex series of reviews by scholars prior to being published. The goal of this process is to present information that is valid, from a source that is credible.

Using Databases to Find Articles

To find an article, you must:

  • Choose a database from our Databases*
  • Once you have decided which database to use, type your search into the box provided (use any filters or limiters that you may desire-- Full-text, Academic Journal, Publication Year, Peer-Reviewed, etc.)
  • Click the "Search" button.
  • Most full-text articles will have a link so that you may view the file. You may read, save, print, and/or email the article.
  • If the full-text is not available for a specific article, please check the Library Catalog to see if we have a subscription for the journal (in which you may scan or fax the desired pages). Please note: Journals may not be checked out of the library.
  • Lastly, if you encounter any problems, please feel free to contact a librarian. We are more than happy to help you!

*If you are not on campus, please see our "How to" page on Accessing Databases when off campus.

 

Filters for Databases

 "Extracting the precious from the worthless" Jeremiah 15:9

As mentioned before, filters are search criterion that must be met in order for an article to appear as a result.

Using filters in your search will allow you to narrow down the results.

Some of the filters used in database searches include:

  • Full-text
  • Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Articles
  • Publication Date
  • Source Type